Stapleford Abbotts is found just four-and-a-half miles outside of Romford.
The village is a civil parish within the Epping Forest district of Essex and has part of its boundary formed by the River Roding.
An indication of its size can be found in the fact that the entire parish fits within the M25, with Stapleford Abbotts itself spanning around 2,360 acres.
Despite its close proximity to Romford, the village has no direct train station.
Visitors and residents must rely on other local or alternative means of transport for their travel needs.
According to the parish council the area is mainly rural and agricultural, with rolling hills and a medieval church.
It has a small number of shops, a single primary school and a park.
It boasts two traditional pubs – the Top Oak and The Rabbits Pub & Restaurant – an 18-hole golf course, and an aerodrome.
Stapleford Airfield is formed of two runways and offers flight lessons, tours and experience days.
Visitors can sit and watch aircraft taking off and landing from The Clubhouse, an eatery open 362 days of the year.
Stapleford Abbotts may appear the sleepy commuter village, though it has a past darkened by crime.
In 1927, PC George Gutteridge was shot on the roadside by car thieves Frederick Browne and William Kennedy, who were later hanged for their crimes.
A memorial remains in place marking the scene of PC Gutteridge’s shocking death.
Gutteridge Lane is understood to have been named in his memory.
READ MORE: Buzzard ‘dive-bombs’ walker in country park as warning issued
The land has also witnessed the shedding of royal blood belonging to King Edmund in the year 869.
Invading Danes are said to have tied the King to a tree, where he served as a human archery target for their practice.
He was later made the martyr saint of the Bury of St Edmunds.